“You can’t really worry too much by looking to the left and the right about what the competition is doing or what other people in your field are doing. It has to be a true vision.” (Anna Wintour)

 
We work with qualified and internationally recognised lecturers from science, industry and trade, coming from all professional areas, such as fashion design, textile technology, pattern construction, industrial production technology, visual communication, as well as philosophy, politics and economics.

Hediye Cunningham
Principal of Mode Design College

Hediye Cunningham is the principal of the MDC. She has many years of experience as a designer of women’s outerwear. In the past, she lectured at design academies in the fields: fashion design, draping, realization and technical fashion presentation.

Bettina Melzig-Reindel
Fashion Designer & Consultant

Bettina Melzig-Reindel is a consultant for fashion design. She has many years of experience as a creative director and designer at national and international companies, such as Réne Lezard, Donna Karan NY, Cerruti 1881 and Féraud.

Serena Mieleck
Lecturer

Serena Mieleck studied in Paris and London, among other places, and graduated with an MA in Contemporary Design and Master of Education. At the MDC she is a lecturer for the subjects: costume history and draping. She currently holds further teaching positions at the University of Osnabrück and the MDH Düsseldorf.

Paul Cunningham
Management

Paul Cunningham has a Degree in Information Technology and has worked for International companies for many years. Since the foundation of MDC, he has worked in the areas of organization, administration and planning for the Mode Design College in Düsseldorf.

Bianca Seidel
Corporate Consultant & Lecturer

Bianca Seidel founded an international sustainable sportswear label in 1992. She is one of the pioneers in sustainable design and sustainable management. She has been advising companies, start-ups and designers on sustainable business development and eco-design since 2005. She is active as an expert at universities, design schools and at trade events.

Malgorzata Pendl
Fashion Designer and Lecturer

Malgorzata Pendl had a lengthy career as a designer for companies such as Tandem, Carlo Colucci, Public, Marc Aurel with a focus on women’s outerwear fashions. She has been active at the MDC as a lecturer since 2009, and she also works as a freelance artist.

Anja Horn
Fashion Design & Lecturer

Her longstanding teaching activities in the fields of fashion illustration, life drawing and technical fashion illustration finally led Anja Horn to her lecturing activities at the MDC in Düsseldorf. In this role, she also has profited from her freelance work as an illustrator.

Tatjana Marzin
Master Dressmaker & Lecturer

Tatjana Marzin draws on her practical professional experience in bespoke production to create, design and manufacture tailored costumes for theatrical stages. At the same time, she also continues her work as an instructor in pattern making and production techniques at the MDC.

Dr. Stefan Schöffl
Senior Lecturer

Dr. Stefan Schöffl is a teacher with the German second state examination for secondary education and received his doctorate in 1992. He teaches business administration, business studies, pedagogy, politics, German, communication and rhetoric, also at the MDC.

Rory Braddell
English Trainer

Besides having an MA in Music, Rory Braddell is also a self-employed language trainer under the label “English Expert” (www.englishexpert.de). He teaches fashion English and business English at the MDC.

Ole Petersen
Economics & Politics Lecturer

Ole Petersen graduated with a Master of Education in Economics and is also a teacher with the German second state examination for secondary education. He currently teaches economics and politics at the MDC.

Johan Blixt
Advisory Board Member

Johan Blixt holds a Master’s degree in Business and Administration. After many years in the fashion industry, he is now co-founder and CEO of Scandinavian Fashion Agency AB.

Bernd Cierpiol
Fashion photographer & Lecturer

The photo and film designer Bernd Cierpiol graduated with a Master of Arts degree. Further information about his independent work as a fashion photographer can be found on his website (www.design-photo.de). In addition, he also lectures at the MDC and other design academies in the fields of photography and media design.

Thi-Huong Truong
Graphic Designer & Lecturer

Thi-Huong Truong is a design engineer specializing in textile design. She gained many years of experience in trend and fashion coordination, as well as in the field of knitwear and knitted fabrics for women’s outerwear. She now works as a graphic designer and as a lecturer in textile technology and product development at the MDC.

Dr. Caecile Schildberg
Advisory Board Member

Dr. Caecile Schildberg graduated in history, political science and Romance studies and has held a doctorate in political science since 2008. Since then, she has been a consultant for global politics and development at the Friedrich Ebert Foundation in Berlin.

Volker Straeter
Illustrator & Dozent

Volker Straeter graduated from the renowned Central Saint Martin’s College of Art and Design in London. He has been working as a freelance illustrator (www.volkerstraeter.com) for international clients since the late 1980s.

Qualifizierte, international renommierte Dozenten

 

„Man sollte sich nicht zu viel darum sorgen, was die Konkurrenz macht oder was andere Menschen in der Branche gerade tun. Man muss eine wirkliche Vision haben.“ (Anna Wintour)

 

Wir arbeiten am MDC mit qualifizierten, international renommierten Dozenten aus Wissenschaft, Industrie und Handwerk zusammen, die aus Berufszweigen wie Modedesign, Textiltechnik, Schnittkonstruktion, Industrieller Fertigungstechnik, Visueller Kommunikation sowie aus den Bereichen Philosophie, Politik und Wirtschaft kommen.

Hediye Cunningham
Collegeleitung

Hediye Cunningham leitet das MDC. Sie hat langjährige Erfahrungen als Designer im DOB Bereich und war schon in der Vergangenheit als Dozentin an Design-Akademien in den Bereichen Modedesign, Drapieren, Realisation und Technische Modedarstellung tätig.

Bettina Melzig-Reindel
Fashion Designer & Consultant

Als Consultant für das Fach Modedesign blickt Bettina Melzig-Reindel auf eine langjährige Tätigkeit als Creative Director und Designer bei nationalen und internationalen Unternehmen wie Réne Lezard, Donna Karan NY, Cerruti 1881 und Féraud zurück.

Serena Mieleck
Dozentin

Serena Mieleck hat ihr Studium u.a. in Paris und London absolviert und als M.A./ Contemporary Design und Master of Education abgeschlossen. Am MDC ist sie Dozentin für die Fächer Kostümgeschichte und Drapieren. Weitere Lehrtätigkeiten nimmt sie derzeit an der Universität Osnabrück und der MDH Düsseldorf wahr.

Paul Cunningham
Geschäftsleitung

Als Bachelor of Information Technologie war Paul Cunningham lange Jahre für internationale Unternehmen tätig. Seit der Gründung des MDC ist er in den Bereichen Organisation, Verwaltung und Planung für das Mode Design College in Düsseldorf tätig.

Malgorzata Pendl
Fashion Designerin und Dozentin

Nach einer langjährigen Tätigkeit als Designerin bei Firmen wie Tandem, Carlo Colucci, Public, Marc Aurel mit dem Schwerpunkt DOB Jersey ist Malgorzata Pendl am MDC als Dozentin sowie seit 2009 auch als freischaffende Künstlerin tätig.

Anja Horn
Fashion Designer & Dozentin

Ihre langjährige Dozententätigkeiten in den Bereichen Mode-Illustration, Akt Zeichnen und Technische Modedarstellung hat Anja Horn schließlich ans MDC in Düsseldorf geführt. Hier kommt ihr auch ihre selbständige Tätigkeiten als Illustratorin zugute.

Tatjana Marzin
Schneidermeisterin & Dozentin

Ihre praktische Berufserfahrung in der Maßanfertigung kommt Tatjana Marzin bei der Kreation, beim Design und bei der Fertigung von Kostümen nach Maß für Showbühnen zugute. Parallel dazu führt sie ihre mehrjährige Lehrtätigkeit als Dozentin in Schnitt und technischer Fertigung am MDC fort.

Dr. Stefan Schöffl
Oberstudienrat

Dr. Stefan Schöffl ist Lehrer mit dem zweiten Staatsexamen für die Sek. II und promovierte 1992 zum Dr. Phil. Er übt Lehrtätigkeiten in den Bereichen BWL, Arbeitslehre, Pädagogik, Politik, Deutsch, Kommunikationstechnik und Rhetorik aus – auch am MDC.

 

 

Rory Braddell
Englisch Dozent

Rory Braddell hat nicht nur einen MA in Music, sondern übt auch eine selbständige Tätigkeit als Sprach-Trainer unter dem Label „The English Expert“ (www.englishexpert.de) aus. Am MDC unterrichtet er als Dozent die Fächer Fashion Englisch und Business Englisch.

Ole Petersen
Studienrat

Ole Petersen hat einen Master of Education in Wirtschaftswissenschaften erworben und ist zudem Lehrer mit dem zweiten Staatsexamen. Aktuell übt er auch am MDC seine Lehrtätigkeit in den Bereichen Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Politik aus.

Johan Blixt
Beiratsmitglied

Johan Blixt (www.johanblixt.eu) hat einen Master-Degree in Business and Administration. Nach langjährigen Tätigkeiten in der Modebranche ist er heute Co-Founder und als CEO Vorstandsmitglied der Scandinavian Fashion Agency AB.

Bernd Cierpiol
Modefotograf & Dozent

Der Foto- und Film Designer Bernd Cierpiol hat seinen Abschluss als Master of Arts gemacht. Über seine selbständigen Tätigkeiten als Modefotograf informiert er auf seiner Website www.design-photo.de – zudem doziert er am MDC und an weiteren Design-Akademien in den Bereichen Fotografie und Mediendesign.

Thi-Huong Truong
Grafik Designerin & Dozentin

Thi-Huong Truong ist Design Ingenieurin mit dem Schwerpunkt Textildesign. Sie blickt auf langjährige Tätigkeiten in der Trend- und Fashion Coordination, sowie im Bereich der Strick- und Wirkwaren im DOB Bereich zurück. Heute arbeitet sie als Grafik Designerin – und am MDC als Dozentin für die Fächer Textiltechnologie und Product Development.

Dr. Caecile Schildberg
Beiratsmitglied

Dr. Caecile Schildberg absolvierte ein Studium der Geschichte, Politikwissenschaft und Romanistik und ist seit 2008 promovierte Politikwissenschaftlerin. Seither ist sie Referentin für globale Politik und Entwicklung bei der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung in Berlin.

Volker Straeter
Volker Straeter
Illustrator & Dozent

Volker Straeter absolvierte sein Studium an der renommierten St. Martin´s School of Art in London. Seit Ende der 80-er Jahre ist er als Freischaffender Illustrator (www.volkerstraeter.com) für internationale Kunden tätig.